Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook

Who’s Who launches the first edition of its literary prize

We know that France is a country of literary prizes.

- 4 reads.

Who’s Who launches the first edition of its literary prize

We know that France is a country of literary prizes. According to estimates, there are no less than 2,300. Some are unusual and allow the award-winning author to win his weight in Reblochon, or to win baskets of rillettes or sausages, others less tasty, let's say, allow us to discover a new pen, a thrilling story, made of twists and turns and incredible adventures. This is the case of the new Who’s Who literary prize.

First, what is Who’s Who? This is the “network of networks” which brings together the French elite in all areas: economic, financial, political, scientific, cultural, artistic, sporting, gastronomic. “There are no less than 20,000 personalities who make up this high-value and essential network for promoting the successes, know-how and successes so representative of French excellence,” we read in a press release.

Thus, the Who's Who prize, which pays tribute to Antoine Hébrard, one of its directors for 39 years, aims to reward each year "a French-speaking book which will highlight a life trajectory, a success, an extraordinary destiny ". It could be fiction, a biography, an essay or a story.

For this first edition, the jury of writers and personalities passionate about literature will designate among the seven works in the running (published between August 2023 and January 2024), the book which will best illustrate what is said about the work of Balzac: “A vast fresco likely to serve as a reference for future generations. »

The seven works selected are: Life and Death of Vernon Sullivan by Dimitri Kantcheloff, Finitude; Rose's book by Emmanuelle Favier, Les Pérégrines; Phrase of arms by Paul Greveillac, Gallimard; The Shadow of a Traitor by Nathalie Saint-Cricq, L’Observatoire; The monuments of Paris by Violaine Huisman, Gallimard; Little Louis by Jean-Christophe Notin, Grasset and A French Childhood by Farida Khelfa, Albin Michel.

The jury, chaired by Adélaïde de Clermont-Tonnerre, is composed of Irène Frain, woman of letters, novelist and journalist, Anne Fulda, senior reporter and head of the portraits page of Le Figaro, Hervé Gastinel, former finance inspector, Nathalie Obadia , founder of the Nathalie Obadia gallery in Paris and Brussels, Benjamin Patou, French entrepreneur at the head of the Moma group, Bernard Petit, former boss of 36, quai des Orfèvres, Anne-Laure Vial, bookseller at ICI boulevard Poissonnière in Paris.

The Who’s Who Literary Prize ceremony will take place on Tuesday, May 14 at Lapérouse. The winner will leave with the tidy sum of €5,000.

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.