Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook
Featured GOP Burst Colt McCoy Jack Nicklaus Predestination


Woman could win the prize for best Arabic novel

When the jury of the International prize for Arabic fiction in the week announced this year's shortlist, it was clear that four of the six authors are women. So far, no woman has been the sole recipients of the prize, even if the saudi Raja Alem and the morrocan Mohammed Achaari shared on the the price 2011.

the Award goes to the year's best arab novel, and was awarded for the first time in 2008, in a collaboration between the british booker prize and the Abu Dhabi culture department of catalunya. Then its mean some of the analysts that the price has strengthened the Arabic literature, and the appeal – others are critical of the lack of transparency, the female winners of the prize and authors from the Maghreb, according to Haaretz.

Among this year's nominees are the only one author who is translated into Swedish: lebanese Hoda Barakats ”A kingdom of this earth” was published in last year's Leopard publishing house in the translation of Jonathan Morén. Other authors on this year's shortlist come from Egypt, Iraq, Morocco, Syria and Jordan. The award winner will be announced on 23 april.

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.