Post a Comment Print Share on Facebook


EU Parliament votes in favour of the end of the time changeover

The EU Parliament voted on Tuesday by a large majority in favour of abolishing the time change from the year 2021. 410 deputies voted in Strasbourg in favour, 192 against it. 51 MPs abstained. The plenary session of the Parliament followed a recommendation by the traffic Committee. For the actual abolition, however, a compromise should be reached with the member States.

The EU Commission had made originally, the last time change already in this year. The member States requested in December, significantly more preparation time in order to prevent a "patchwork of different time zones in Europe". This requirement, the European Parliament took into account.

After the adoption of this schedule is to inform the EU member States and the Commission in Brussels until April 2020, what time do you want to keep permanently - the Winter or the summer time. In March 2021 to be for the last Time, the seasonal time change to daylight saving time. (sep/AFP/sda)

Created: 26.03.2019, 12:45 PM

Your Name
Post a Comment
Characters Left:
Your comment has been forwarded to the administrator for approval.×
Warning! Will constitute a criminal offense, illegal, threatening, offensive, insulting and swearing, derogatory, defamatory, vulgar, pornographic, indecent, personality rights, damaging or similar nature in the nature of all kinds of financial content, legal, criminal and administrative responsibility for the content of the sender member / members are belong.